Tuapa secure Rugby League 9s Tournament shield as the undefeated champions

Photo credits: Facebook/ Toke Huga Talagi

The Niue Rugby League 9s Tournament 2022, that took place last Saturday, saw a lot of great potential and skills amongst the four teams that battled for the championship title and new shield on the day. A tough battle was fought to be on top but the scorching victory of the day was left to Tuapa.

Taking place at the Tuatea school grounds in Hakupu, the four village teams that competed against each other included Alofi, Avatele, Hakupu and Tuapa. 

The tournament began with round robins which determined the teams that would compete for the final placings. 

Taking the championship shield and first place was Tuapa, second place to Avatele, coming in third was Hakupu and fourth place went to Alofi. 

According to Niue Rugby League President Zack Smith, “Avatele and Tuapa played a grueling last game to win the Niue Rugby League 9s Tournament shield for the first time. This match was demanding, tense and highly strung for both teams and the score reflected this more than ever. The final score was 13-14 to the more persistent team of the match, Tuapa.”

For the final placings of third and fourth, Zack says that “Alofi could not carry out their last game with Hakupu due to shortage of players after an injury, forcing them to forfeit and take 4th placing in the tournament.”

The Player of the Tournament went to Pelenato Vaoga Bourne from Tuapa team. All teams also received a prize chosen for the Most Valuable Players of each team. 

Niue Rugby League President shared that “at the end of the day, the real winner is Rugby League.”

Also at the tournament, two new rugby league goal posts were launched at the Tuatea school grounds which were donated by Auckland Rugby League and freight funded by New Zealand High Commission of Niue.

The new shield was funded by the Niue Rugby League Executive Committee and was made and designed by Tamahetoa Creations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *