Niue ratifies Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons

No Nukes

Niue has ratified the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons along with Ireland and Nigeria.

“Niue has relied on its isolation to protect us.  However, the government recognizes that no state is immune to the effects of nuclear weapons,” said Premier Dalton Tagelagi.

The Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons or TPNW includes a comprehensive set of prohibitions on participating in any nuclear weapon activities.

These include undertakings not to develop, test, produce, acquire, possess, stockpile, use, or threaten to use nuclear weapons. The Treaty also prohibits the deployment of nuclear weapons on national territory and the provision of assistance to any State in the conduct of prohibited activities. States parties will be obliged to prevent and suppress any activity prohibited under the TPNW undertaken by persons or on territory under its jurisdiction or control.

The Treaty also obliges States parties to provide adequate assistance to individuals affected by the use or testing of nuclear weapons, as well as to take necessary and appropriate measure of environmental remediation in areas under its jurisdiction or control contaminated as a result of activities related to the testing or use of nuclear weapons.

The number of ratification now stands at 43, with 82 signatories.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *