Swearing-in of two new Justices of the Peace

A swearing-in ceremony for two new Justice of the Peace (JP) for Niue was held last Saturday. 

The two JPs sworn in were Anthea Harding and Speedo Hetutu. 

Invited guests gathered at the Environment Department conference room to witness the special occasion. 

The ceremony was conducted by Niue’s Secretary of Justice Darren Tohovaka. He was able to welcome Chief Justice of the High Court of Niue Craig Coxhead and his delegation to the island who have finally returned to Niue since their last visit five years ago in 2019. 

In his opening remarks, Coxhead acknowledged Celina Tiakia for her 20 years of service as the Registrar of the Niue Land Court.

Chief Justice Coxhead led the official swearing in of the ceremony where Mrs Harding and Mr Hetutu both swore their oaths for their new role as Justices of the Peace.

Minister for Justice, Lands and Court Hon. Sonya Talagi who was present also shared words of gratitude and congratulation to the two new JPs. 

Chairperson of the Niue Justice Desmond Hipa also shared thoughts of acknowledgement to past JPs and land court commissioners for their years of service to the Justice, Lands and Court. 

The ceremony was opened and closed with a prayer by Ekalesia Niue President Rev. Navy Salatielu.

Niue’s Land Court Division and Court of Appeal began yesterday and will be scheduled for the rest of the week until its conclusion this Thursday 21 March 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *